April 29, 2019

How to Add a New User to Google My Business

Welcome back to another Momentum Monday blog! This week, learn how to add a new user to your Google My Business account in 90 seconds or less.

As Google partners, we love to teach small business owners about Google’s valuable suite of free tools. Google My Business may be one of the most valuable platforms for small business owners to utilize.

Google My Business

Google My Business, formally called Google Places, is a tool created by Google. Google My Business is a tool that was created to allow business owners to take control of the business’ information online. If your business is not on Google My Business already, you run a risk of potential customers being unable to find your business easily within the Google listings.

Google My Business - Small Business

Google my Business allows business owners to:

  1. Add your business’ address, phone number, and hours of operation
  2. Select the category that your business is in
  3. Provide a link to their business’ website
  4. Create a business profile
  5. Respond to direct messages from your GMB listing
  6. Answer quick questions and answers
  7. Manage customer reviews
  8. Upload a business logo, cover photo, and other photos of your business

Google is, hands down, the world’s largest Search Engine. Every day, Google processes over 3.5 billion search inquiries per day and over 1.2 trillion searches per year. Locally, 4 out of 5 customers will use a search engine to gain information about a business before becoming a customer and 85% of those customers will trust the online reviews that GMB displays.

Google - Search Engine

Whatever your business is, Google My Business is the perfect platform to get more exposure from people searching locally for the products and services you provide.

Local SEO - GMB

Don’t have a Google My Business account yet? Stop here and read our past blog to learn more about navigating Google My Business.

If you have an existing Google My Business account and you’re ready to add your team and start optimizing your account – let’s get started!

Here are 5 simple steps to adding a new user to your Google My Business account!

1. Log In to Your Google My Business Account

Log in to your Google My Business account.

Once on the Google My Business dashboard, select the location you want to manage.

Looking to optimize your Google My Business account? Check our how-to video that will teach you how to optimize your listing for local SEO.

2. Select “Users”

In the menu on the left-hand side, you will see an option for “users.” Click here to manage your Google My Business account’s current user permissions.

3. Invite a New User

Add a new user to your Google My Business account by selecting the user button in the top right-hand corner of your screen. Once selected, a pop-up will appear that will prompt you to enter the email address of the user you wish to add.

GMB - New User

If you are already associated with them on your Google account, you can simply type in their name and their email will populate. If not, enter their full email.

4. Choose User Permissions

Once the email is entered, take note of the drop down menu underneath the email labeled “choose a role.”

Google My Business - User Permissions

Selecting this user’s role will select which permissions that they will have on Google My Business Account. For the user role, there are 3 options – owner, manager, and communications manager.

To break these down for you:

Owners:

The owner of the listing. There can be multiple owners under one listing. Owners have full permissions.

Manager:

Managers have almost the same permissions as the owners. However, they cannot add/remove a user or listing.

Community Managers:

Have the least access. They can do most things, such as posting and communication with customers, but cannot edit business information

See below for the full list of permissions for each role!

Google My Business User Permissions

For more information on these roles, read this great article by Google.

5. Approve and Disapprove

Once you have inserted the email and selected the user’s permissions…

Click “invite” and an email will be sent directly to them.

Once they approve the invite, they will be able to access your business’ Google My Business Account using their own Google login credentials.

Hit “done.”

And just like that, you have successfully invited a new user to manage your Google My Business Account!

Thanks for reading this week’s Momentum Monday blog. If you have any requests for tutorials or how-tos you would like to see, comment them below!

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to top